Reply To: Welcome to Invicta University!

Bo VanLanen
Participant

Hi everyone at IU!

My name is Boaz VanLanen, and I am from Wisconsin. I work as a professional freelance videographer. I am 25 years old. If I was me a year ago, I never would have thought I would ever enroll in deliverance classes. I was born again on March 19, 2022 after a miraculous and supernatural encounter with God.

I was born and raised in Upper Michigan. I grew up in the pentecostal church. My parents were both Christians, and I don’t think I would be here typing in this forum if it wasn’t for them praying for my salvation. Unfortunately, the church we attended became corrupt. This drove me away from God.

My whole life I loved music. Since I was 7 I wanted to play the piano and I received lessons. But then I was introduced to hip hop music from a friend when I was around 13 years old. It made me feel whole, and I started composing, producing, and creating hip hop beats. Later on I started rapping and writing lyrics that were very vulgar and distasteful. I actually wrote songs that blasphemed God, with many other demonically influenced lyrics. I would listen to rappers with satanic album covers that would rap about witchcraft, self harm, suicide, cults and rituals, and very depressing emo lyrics that would also blaspheme God. I actually worked my way up in the underground music industry, and had contacts and collaborations with various underground hip hop artists. However, when it seemed like I had one step forward, I went 3 steps back. When a popular artist in the genre wanted to work with me, it somehow fell off and he stopped speaking with me for no reason. Later on, I truly believe this was God looking out for me. When I was born again, I cut ties, burned and deleted the music I used to listen to.